Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Maddslinky Makes a Change

Maddslinky, or Zed Bias as he is probably best known as (also Henchmen, Daluq, Talissman, Ruffcut Bias, Nu Design, 7 Wonders, Dekata Project, & Strontium Dog) has a new album Make a Change, dropping on October 25th on Tru Thoughts with collaborators including Skream, Omar, Jenna G, Mr Scruff and many more.

Also keep your ears peeled for the 13th September release of Special feat. Omar, the first single from the album with remixes from MJ Cole, Toddla T, Chimpo, At Jazz and Simbad.

I was lucky enough to receive a copy of the album yesterday and have already fallen very much in love with it. Really showing his diversity Maddslinky moves from reggae infused dubstep, through beautiful, dreamy, house-tinged 2-step on to bigger dancefloor bass tunes such as 50 Shades of Peng feat. Skream.

My personal favourite is the wonderfully percussive Lost on Tenori Street, which I first heard on Martyn's brilliant Fabric 50 mix.

Make a Change tracklist
1. Lionheart Featuring Ghost 1 & Mighty Moe
2. Dub Is For Real Featuring Mr Scruff
3. It Was You
4. Ruled By Your Motions
5. 50 Shades Of Peng Featuring Skream
6. Further Away Featuring Tawiah
7. Lost On Tenori Street
8. Fly Featuring Jenna G
9. Hiding Place Featuring Tawiah
10. Peru
11. Cognitive Behaviour
12. Inspiration Meditation Featuring Paul Randolph
13. Special Featuring Omar
14. Travelling Featuring Nile Sugar

In other Maddslinky news, his 2003 album Make Your Peace is going to be re-issued, with liner notes from journalist and musician Martin ‘Blackdown’ Clark, and quotes from Skream on its importance and influence on the current UK music scene.

For more information look here and Zed Bias Biasonic mixtape here