Thursday, January 20, 2011

Mosaic Vol. 1 by Exit Records

Exit Records is an absolute favourite of mine. Since 2003 the label has been taking drum and bass into deeper, more minimalist territory than the usual gamut of mainstream labels.

DBridge opens Exit Records 2011 with a new compilation featuring not only classic Exiters such as ASC, Instra:mental and Consequence, but also a host of 'deeper' dubstep artists such as Scuba and Synkro.

DBridge released this statement on his Soundcloud (where you can also listen to some clips) - "With so much good music arriving in the Exit inbox it was decided that a various artist project was needed to ensure that it all sees the light of day and doesn’t get caught up in a never ending schedule of singles. Hopefully this album will manage to reach the people that thought this forward thinking music was left behind in the nineties and let them know that it’s still alive and well and still capable of throwing up some surprising and unpredictable results."

The full tracklist for the 2xCD set is below; selected tracks will also be released across two 12″/10″ samplers and a 4×12″ gatefold edition and the CD will come free with the vinyl. Released March 3.

CD 1

1. Scuba – In_2
2. Stray – Pushed
3. Distance – Fading
4. dBridge – Forgot What I Needed to Forget
5. Synkro – Open Arms
6. dBridge – Rendezvous
7. Dan Harbanham – Nu Este Roze
8. dBridge – Decayed
9. Consequence – Splinter
10. ASC – Modular Concepts
11. Croms – Invisible Cities

CD 2
1. Commix – City Section
2. Indigo – Time
3. Mode – Stepping Stones
4. Instra:mental – Scene 3
5. Skeptical – Another World
6. Skream – Motorway
7. Genotype – Further Searching
8. Code 3 – Chasm
9. Abstract Elements – Essence of Time
10. System – Observation Point
11. Loxy & Resound – Vertigo

Exit records on Myspace